Startseite
Bild

napp-it-zfs


Sata High Capacity Storage / Hybrid Storage

high


High performance multiuser filerserver/ archiveserver in Windows AD environments with Windows ACL/SID support,
NFS or iSCSI for mediastorage or backups


Use a19" Storagecase with 3,5"  backplanes from Chenbro, DataOn, Dell, HP, Norco or SuperMicro like the 24bay SuperMicro SC846A-R1200B with up to 144 TB Raw (24 x 6TB) or a Chenbo 50bay Case up to 288 TB Raw capacity. Both support expanderless operation with HBA controller and offer a redundant power supply.

Add a serverclass mainboard (socket 1150 with max 32 GB ECC RAM or socket 2011 with up to 128 GB ECC RAM), 1 to 6 LSI HBA controller in IT mode and best a 10GbE Intel nic. If you are using hardware from DataOn, Dell or HP, check either for compatibility with other Solaris based distributions or if they use LSI (or rebranded from IBM or Dell) HBA diskcontroller without hardwareraid like a LSI 9207 or LSI 9211 with IT firmware - otherwise replace these two critical parts.

The price of a working 24bay system without disks is possible up from about 1000 USD (Norco) to over 5000 USD (Chenbro 50bay case). To improve performance of slow Sata disks, add as much RAM as Read cache as possible (use max 128GB) otherwise use SSDs as readcache (hybridstorage).

A professional storageserver based on a SuperMicro SC 847 with a mainboards from the SuperMicro X10 line with 32 GB ECC RAM and 48 TB RAW-capacity and HBAs from LSI (9207) or IBM (M1015)  costs up from about 5000 USD. Usable capacity depends on selected raid-configuration and amount of local disks.

Storagehead solution

A ZFS server is usually built from local disks with one or more SAS HBA disk adapters and optional an SAS expander. ZFS builds raidarrays (vdevs) and pools from these disks. If you want to increase capacity or performance you can add more vdevs from local disks.

For special demands on performance, capacity and availability you can separate ZFS file and server-services from local disks by using one ore more  ZFS server as storagehead where you do not need local disks beside bootdisks. Disks were provided from independent  ZFS storageboxes called storagenodes offering their capacity via FC, IB or iSCSI as a blockdevice target. From storagehead view they are working like a huge and ultrafast local disk. They can be used to build a basic pool from a single target or you can build mirrors or Raid-Z from them. You can connect your storagehead(s) with your storagenodes directly or over a switch either a dedicated SAN network or your regular LAN. Storagenodes can be located several kilometers away from your storagehead(s). An optional spare storagehead can take over functionality manually within a very short time (keep it simple, a preconfigured backuphead must only be powered on) or automatically when using avtive/active HA.

Checklist:

  • 19" Storage Case + hotplug backplane (up to 50 local disks without expander, more with expander)
  • Serverclass mainboard with i3 or Xeon,  ECC RAM
    Socket 1150 or Single CPU 2011 ex http://www.supermicro.nl/products/motherboard/Xeon3000/#2011
  • Intel Nic 1G but prefer 10 GbE (example Intel X540-T1 or T2)
  • opt 10 GbE Switch ex Netgear XS708E
  • one or more LSI HBA  ex. LSI 9207 or IBM 1015 (reflashed 9211-IT mode)
  • optional SAS expander or a storage head solution



cchenbro50c

napp-it 24.03.2017

Startseite
Bild

napp-it-zfs


Sata Storage mit hoher Kapazität / Hybrid Storage

high


High Performance Multiuser Archiv/ Fileserver in Windows (AD) Umgebungen mit Windows ACL/SID Support,
NFS oder iSCSI z.B. für Mediienanwendungen sowie für Backups


Zum Einsatz kommen idealerweise 19" Storagegehäuse mit 3,5" Backplane z.B. von Chenbo, DataOn, Dell, HP, Norco oder SuperMicro wie z.B. das 24bay SC846A-R1200B  bis ca 144 TB RAW (24 x 6TB) bzw. das Chenbo 50bay Case bis ca 288 TB Raw Kapazität. Beide unterstützen Expander-freien Betrieb mit HBA Controllern und haben eine redundante Stromversorgung.

Dazu ein Intel-Servermainboard (Sockel 1150 bis 32GB ECC-RAM bzw. Sockel 2011 bis 128GB ECC RAM), 1 bis 6 LSI HBA Controller mit IT Modus und idealerweise eine Intel 10GbE Netzwerkkarte. Wenn Sie Komplettsysteme von DataOn, Dell oder HP nutzen, achten Sie entweder auf Kompatibilität mit Solarisdistributionen oder darauf dass diese  LSI (oder rebranded von IBM oder Dell) HBA Disk-Controller ohne Hardwareraid wie LSI 9207 oder LSI 9211 mit IT Firmware sowie Intel Nics nutzen oder lassen Sie diese ersetzen.

Der Preis eines 24bay Komplettsystems ohne Festplatten liegt damit typischerweise ab ca 1000 (Norco) bis über 5000 Euro (Chenbro 50bay). Zur Beschleunigung der langsamen Sata Platten sollten Sie möglichst viel RAM als Read-Cache (max 128 GB) oder auch SSDs (Hybridspeicher) einsetzen.

Ein professionelles Storagesystem auf Basis des SuperMicro SC 847 mit einem Mainboards der SuperMicro X10 Serie mit 32 GB ECC RAM und 48 TB RAW-Kapazität (12 x 4TB)  und HBAs von LSI (9207) oder IBM (M1015) liegt damit ab ca 5000 Euro. Es liegt damit preislich am unteren Ende professioneller Optionen. Die Nutzkapazität ist abhängig von der gewählten Raid Konfiguration und der Anzahl der lokal angeschlossenen Platten.

Storage Head Lösung

Ein ZFS Server spricht Platten lokal über einen HBA Festplattenkontroller an und baut aus diesen Platten Raidarrays (vdevs) und Pools. Für höhere Performance und Kapazitätswünsche erweitert man den Server lokal um weitere Platten und vdevs.

Für besonders hohe Ansprüche an Performance, Kapazität und Verfügbarkeit kann man die ZFS Server - und Dateidienste von den lokalen Platten trennen.  Man setzt dazu einen ZFS Server als Storagehead ein, der bis auf die Bootplatte keine lokalen Platten benötigt.  Die Platten werden in weiteren unabhängig arbeitenden ZFS Storagenodes untergebracht und stellen dem Storagehead ihre Kapazität per FC, IB oder iSCSI als Blockdevice Targets zur Verfügung. Aus Sicht des Storageheads arbeiten diese Targets wir eine ultraschnelle und riesige Einzelfestplatte.Der Storagehead kann diese Targets als Basic-Pool nutzen oder daraus Mirror oder Raid-Z vdevs anlegen.  Die Verbindung zwischen Storagehead und Storagenodes erfolgt direkt oder über Switche entweder ein dediziertes SAN Netzwerk oder das lokale LAN. Die Storagenodes können bis zu mehreren Kilometern entfernt stehen. Ein optionaler Reserve-Storagehead kann bei Ausfall des primären Heads dessen Aufgabe in kurzer Zeit manuell  (keep it simple, ein vorkonfigurierter Reservehead muss lediglich gestarte werden) oder per active/active HA automatisch übernehmen.

Checklist:

  • 19" Storage Case + hotplug backplane (up to 50 local disks without expander, more with expander)
  • Serverclass mainboard with i3 or Xeon,  ECC RAM
    Sockel 1150 or Single CPU 2011 ex z.B. http://www.supermicro.nl/products/motherboard/Xeon3000/#2011
  • Intel Nic 1G but prefer 10 GbE (example Intel X540-T1 or T2 für 10Gbase-T)
  • opt 10 GbE Switch ex Netgear XS708E
  • one or more LSI HBA  ex. LSI 9207 or IBM 1015 (reflashed 9211-IT mode)
  • optional SAS expander or a storage head solution



cchenbro50c

napp-it 31.03.2017